RECAP: BDC Round Two, Three Sisters

Spurred on by the success of our first round at Driftland, the #BDC2020 circus rolled into Three Sisters Race Circuit in Wigan for the second round, one which would see many drivers get the rematch they were itching for after Round One!

A brand new layout was created which would reward the drivers with technical skill and lots of commitment, and in addition to the drift action, we had dozens of exotic cars setting off on The Cannon Run, and some absolutely nuts Autograss racers adding a touch of exhilarating variety to proceedings!

The Pro 2 grid for Round Two was full to bursting, with 56 drivers from all over the UK looking to take down the young prodigy who has set the Pro 2 championship alight: Max Cotton. The men at the front of that queue included Round One runner-up Dave Goldstraw and 24-year-old Irishman Dylan Kehoe.

The second round saw the debut of a lot of Pro 2 drivers who had not attended the first round and were itching to get out there and prove themselves. Some very famous vehicles returned to competition, including Aurimas Vaskelis’ 2019 competition car, now piloted by Arunas Narmontas and with a striking new red/black colour scheme. 

However, the practice day saw many breakages – some large, some small – which put many drivers out of competition before it had even begun, as is so often the way with drifting, but the show must go on!

Pro 2 qualifying saw Max Cotton edge out Robbie Burgoyne and his monstrous 1 Series. Despite both drivers qualifying with a 95, Max topped qualifying by virtue of a higher average score. The ever-consistent Max Fleckney rounded out qualifying for Pro 2 in third place with a 92. 

The 15-year-old schoolboy from Sheffield proceeded to put on a clinic, battling his way through driver after driver, including Josh Moore, David Goldstraw, Dom Gates and Danny McGuire before lining up for the final next to Dylan Kehoe.

Dylan had fought an equally tenacious campaign to earn his place in the final, beating out Mark Chapman, Chrissy Nailen, Charlie Hulme and Mark Brown to square off against The Boy Wonder.


The final between Cotton and Kehoe was a battle for the history books and ended with Max claiming his second top step in as many rounds. Dylan would have to settle for second place this time, but Dylan really has the bit between his teeth now, and he’s determined to take Max down at Round 3 in just a few short weeks.

The third step on the podium was claimed by Danny McGuire, who, due to mechanical failure on his R34 Skyline has been forced to press his 2021 competition car into service early – an S15 powered by an R35 GTR heart. Danny fought hard to earn the final step, beating driver after driver until finally being bested by Max Cotton. Winning the playoff against Mark Brown, the smiling Preston lad claimed his first BDC podium. 

The sole Subaru pilot on the grid, Mark Brown collected the Pro 2 Lucas Oil Hard Charger award after a valiant effort which ended up with him placing fourth. After a significant amount of trial and error with his Scooby’s Frankenstein setup, Mark looks to finally have it nailed down and the Essex native was all smiles as he collected his award. 

After the frenetic action of the Pro 2 day, the four men from the day before would line up against some of the biggest names in the business. 

Max Cotton obliterated Pro Qualifying with a staggering 98 point run, to rapturous applause from the crowd, with Round One winner Duane McKeever only managing fourth. Stefan Stefanov and his 2JZ S13 placed second, and Lwi Edwards rounded out the top 3 in his LS2 E36. Amazingly, all the advancing Pro 2 Drivers managed to qualify in a field of BDC veterans!

For the second Pro event in a row, it would be a story of the nations. 

Irish RB limiter-bashing expert Duane McKeever would scythe his way through the field, including 2019 Most Exciting Driver Ricky Lawrence and young gun Luke Barker, until meeting Max Cotton in the Final Four. In one of the most intense battles in the history of the championship, Duane was declared the winner after contact and a breakage on his car. 


It became the rematch we all wanted to see as 2018 champ McKeever would line up against 2019 champ Ollie Evans in the finals yet again, as Ollie had bested Martyn Cowley, Stefan Stefanov, Oliver Silcock and Lwi Edwards to line up against Duane. 

Ollie had not had an easy run thus far. After a late night, last-minute gearbox and diff swap, Ollie had contact with Ian “Bizz” Phillips in practice, bending his Wisefab. He then had contact with Cowley in Top 24, and with help from his arch-nemesis McKeever’s crew (not many motorsports where you see that happen) Ollie removed the bashed-in sump from his DY Engines 2JZ and pounded it out with a hammer and a block of wood. Once again, despite strong opposition from the Welshman, Duane climbed atop the podium.

The two youngest drivers on the grid, Lwi Edwards and Max Cotton faced off for the final podium step, with Max emerging victorious and adding more silverware to his increasingly impressive collection.

The Pro Lucas Oil Hard Charger award was scooped up by Paul Cunnington who fought off Haydn Cruickshank and his planet-rotating JZX100, and then surpassed Ian Rutherford to get his shot at Max. Taking him to a OMT with Max narrowly emerging victorious netted him his well-deserved Hard Charger award. 


Once again, it looked like the setup to a great joke at the awards ceremony – An Irishman, A Welshman, and an Englishman are standing on a podium…

Huge congratulations to Team Drift Creations, who, after tremendous performances from Stephen Fitzgerald, Danny McGuire and Paul Cunnington, netted themselves the Team Constructors trophy!

  • No products in the cart.